Past Recipients

Past Recipients

Below is a list of the past recipients in each award category.  

Professional Services of the Year

Year Gold Silver Bronze
2012 AVW-TELAV Audio Visual Solutions Ascribe Marketing Communications Inc. Paul Rushforth Real Estate
2011 Cinnamon Toast New Media Inc. Mann & Partners LLP Welch LLP
2010 Shapiro Cohen McSweeney & Associates Consulting Inc. FoTenn Consultants Inc.
2009 Marketing Breakthroughs Inc. Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall LLP ema Architects Inc.
2008 Hendry Warren LLP Chartered Accountants Gladstone Aerospace Consulting Thornley Fassis & 76Design
2007 Augustine Bater Polowin LLP inRound Innovations QMR Staffing Solutions Inc.
2006 WESA The Savvy Grapes Inc. Macadamian Technologies
2005 BrazeauSeller.LLP Maplesoft Consulting AXIS Capital Corporation
2004 Manotick Travel & Cruise Centre Logan Katz Chartered Accountants Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP

New Business of the Year

Year Gold Silver Bronze
2012 Tindr Solutions Inc. Journey of the Yogini Shoebox-Be-Gone Bookkeeping Solutions
2011 Sol Powered Energy Corporation Ottawa Convention Centre Valydate Inc.
2010 Blower Express Services Pranashanti Yoga Centre MAD Inc.
2009 Copperstone Kitchens Mikaza Home Moksha Yoga Ottawa
2008 (Grade Enhancers), Operating as Learna, Ottawa Elemental Data Collection Inc. The Proposal Centre (operated as Straight BCS Inc.)
2007 DISTIL Interactive Ltd. Art-Is-In Bakery Tracy Arnett Realty Ltd.
2006 Urban Element Ageus Solutions Inc. Auger Hollingsworth, An Ottawa Law Firm
2005 Billboards in Motion QMR Staffing Solutions Inc. Capital Technology Partners
2004 Sweetgrass Aboriginal Bistro Nimcat Networks BelAir Networks

Small Business of the Year

Year Gold Silver Bronze
2012 Versature Corp. Ottawa General Contractors Accu-Rate Corporation
2011 Mistura Beauty Solutions CTE Solutions iPal Interactive Learning Inc.
2010 Restore-All Corporation Recognia Inc. Pilates Space
2009 M.P. Lundy Construction Ltd. Amsted Construction Mill Street Florist
2008 SpartanBioscienceInc. Onconference Aubrey's Meats Inc.
2007 Luzchem Research Inc. Amika Mobile Corporation Stoneworks Technologies, Inc.
2006 DNA Genotek Dish Catering Inc.
2005 Truffle Treasures The Permedia Research Group Inc. The Alder Group
2004 Promographix Time Mobile Communications Inc. Bridgehead

Mid-Market Business of the Year

Year Gold Silver Bronze
2012 Veritaaq IT Consulting Le Nordik Nature Spa TIny Hoppers Corp.
2011 Eagle Professional Resources Inc. MediaMiser Oakwood Renovation Experts
2010 Dental Technology Group Bytown Catering Intelcan Technosystems
2009 Greely Sand & Gravel Akran Marketing Nutri-Lawn Ottawa
2008 ServiceMaster Clean of Ottawa Retire-At-Home Services Halogen Software
2007 ProSlide Technology Inc. Deslaurier Custom Cabinets ExitCertified Corporation
2006 Fidus Systems Inc. Nitro Microsystems Inc. Ross' Your Independent Grocer
2005 Hulse, Playfair & McGarry Cistel Technology Inc. CDWarehouse/
2004 Laurysen Kitchens Ltd. Protus IP Solutions Steve's Music Store

Company of the Year

Year Gold Silver Bronze
2012 Halogen Software The Minto Group Hydro Ottawa
2011 Calian Technologies Ltd. Pythian Ottawa Senators Hockey Club
2010 Ottawa International Airport Iron Horse Security & Investigations Shred It
2009 Dragonwave MDS Nordion Abbot Point of Care
2008 Genivar MBNA Canada Bank Desjardins Healthcare Group
2007 Cactus Commerce S&S/Bolton Group MaxSys Staffing and Consulting
2006 March Networks Telesat Canada Brookstreet Hotel
2005 Minto Developments Inc. Cognos MaxSys Staffing & Consulting
2004 IT/Net Ottawa Inc. Paul Ziebarth Electrical Contractors Ltd. Adobe Systems Canada

CEO of the Year

Year Recipient
2012 Louise Wendling, Costco Wholesale Canada
2011 Jean Laurin, Schinnerer Group
2010 Don Smith, Mitel
2009 Karen Kinsley, Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation
2008 Roy Mlakar, Ottawa Senators
2007 David Dobson, Corel Corporation
2006 Kevin Dee, Eagle Professional
2005 Peter Strom, March Networks
2004 Roger Greenberg, Minto
2003 Richard L’Abbe, Med-Eng
2002 Ron Zambonini, Cognos
2001 George Cwynar, Mosaid
2000 Rod Bryden, WorldHeart & Senators

Lifetime Achievement Award (Previously Business Person of the Year)

Year Gold Silver Bronze
2012 John Kelly
2011 Jim Durrell
2010 Alex Beraskow, IT/NET Michel Jullian - OCM Manufacturing Frank D'Addario - The Envision Group
2009 Ian Sherman - Ernst & Young LLP Pierre de Varennes - Performance Realty, Royal Lepage Gay Moffett - GEM Health Care Services
2008 Cyril Leeder - Senators Sports & Entertainment Ian Sterling - Doherty & Associates Ltd. Alex Beraskow - IT/NET
2007 Ward Griffin - The Lowe-Martin Group Chris Henderson - The Delphi Group Michael LeClair - Ottawa Business Interiors
2006 Julie Tubman - Tubman Funeral Homes Paul Hindo - Cushman & Wakefield LePage Inc. Sam Firestone - Primecorp Commercial Realty / Firestone Restaurant Group
2005 Bill Malhotra - Claridge Homes Group of Companies Omur Sezerman - OZ Optics Michael Koudsi - Sugar Mountain
2004 Robert Merkley - Merkley Supply Ltd. Phil Downey - Royal Lepage Gale / Caregard Group Marie Boivin - Accu-Rate Corporation